Skip to Content

Ombudsman Directory

 Alabama Julie Turner Education Specialist/Ombudsman Alabama State Department of Education jturner@alsde.edu

Alaska Margaret Mackinnon Ombudsman Alaska Department of Education and Early Development margaret.mackinnon@alaska.gov

American Samoa Beauty Tuiasosopo Ombudsman American Samoa Department of Education btuiasosopo@yahoo.com

Arizona Bryan McCleney Ombudsman Arizona Department of Education Bryan.McCleney@azed.gov

Arkansas Wes Whitley Ombudsman Arkansas Department of Education wes.whitley@arkansas.gov 501-682-1293

California Sylvia Hanna Ombudsman California Department of Education SHanna@cde.ca.gov http://www.cde.ca.gov/sp/sw/t1/ombudsmaneqservices.asp 916-319-0948

Colorado Colleen Brooks Ombudsman Colorado Department of Education brooks_c@cde.state.co.us 303-866-3891

Commonwealth of the Northern Mariana Islands Kinai Salas Ombudsman Commonwealth of the Northern Mariana Islands, State Department of Education kinai.salas@gmail.com

Connecticut Adrian Wood Ombudsman Connecticut State Department of Education adrian.wood@ct.gov 860-713-6795

Delaware Eulinda Gallagher Ombudsman Delaware Department of Education eulinda.gallagher@doe.k12.de.us

District of Columbia Sheryl Hamilton Ombudsman Office of the State Superintendent of Education sheryl.hamilton@dc.gov 202-741-6404

Georgia Shaun Owen Ombudsman Georgia Department of Education sowen@doe.k12.ga.us 404-971-0096

Guam Stephanie N. Chargualaf State Program Officer Guam Department of Education snchargualaf@gdoe.net 671-300-1261

Hawaii Cara Tanimura Ombudsman Hawaii State Department of Education cara_tanimura@notes.k12.hi.us

Idaho Michelle Clement Taylor Coordinator- School Choice Idaho Department of Education mtaylor@sde.idaho.gov 208-332-6963

Illinois Carmine Draude Ombudsman Illinois State Board of Education cdraude@isbe.net

Indiana Brenda Martz Indiana Department of Education bmartz@doe.in.gov 317-233-3457

Iowa Steve Crew ESSA Ombudsman for Equitable Services Iowa Department of Education steve.crew@iowa.gov 515-326-1029

Kansas Tate Toedman Ombudsmen Kansas State Department of Education ttoedman@ksde.org 785-296-6714

Kentucky David Millanti Equitable Services Ombudsman Kentucky Department of Education pso@education.ky.gov 502-564-3791

Louisiana Daphne Flentroy Ombudsman Louisiana Department of Education daphne.flentroy@la.gov

Maine Charles Lomonte Ombudsman Maine Department of Education charles.lomonte@maine.gov

Maryland Barbara Scherr Education Specialist Maryland Department of Education barbara.scherr@maryland.gov

Massachusetts Russ Fleming Ombudsman Massachusetts Department of Elementary and Secondary Education ESEAequitableservices@doe.mass.edu 781-338-6529

Michigan Theresa Nugent Ombudsman Michigan Department of Education NugentT@michigan.gov 517-335-0774

Minnesota Debra Landvik Letendre Ombudsman Minnesota Department of Education debra.landvik@state.mn.us 651-582-8763

Mississippi Bryan Lieb Ombudsman Mississippi Department of Education blieb@mdek12.org 601-359-3499

Missouri Theresa Villmer Assistant Director of Federal Programs Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education theresa.villmer@dese.mo.gov 573-526-4365

Montana Jack O’Connor Ombudsman Montana Office of Public Instruction Joconnor2@mt.gov

Nebraska Diane Stuehmer Federal Programs & Title I Administrator Nebraska Department of Education diane.stuehmer@nebraska.gov 402-471-1740

Nevada Melissa Schroeder Ombudsman Nevada Department of Education mschroeder@doe.nv.gov 702-486-8259

New Hampshire Stephen Berwick Ombudsman New Hampshire Department of Education stephen.berwick@doe.nh.gov 603-271-2299

New Jersey Constance Webster Ombudsmen New Jersey Department of Education constance.webster@doe.state.nj.us

New Mexico Brigette Russell, Ph.D. Education Administrator, Title I Bureau New Mexico Department of Education brigette.russell2@state.nm.us 505-827-1819

New York Christina Coughlin Ombudsman New York State Education Department christina.coughlin@nysed.gov

North Carolina Talbot Troy Ombudsman North Carolina Department of Public Instruction talbot.troy@dpi.nc.gov 919-807-3792

North Dakota Stephanie Two Crow Ombudsman North Dakota Department of Public Instruction stwocrow@nd.gov 701-328-2287

Ohio David Hartline Ombudsman Ohio Department of Education david.hartline@education.ohio.gov 614-466-3151

Oklahoma Naomi Ward Ombudsman Oklahoma Department of Education naomi.ward@sde.ok.gov

Oregon Russ Sweet Ombudsman Oregon Department of Education russ.sweet@ode.state.or.us

Pennsylvania Lynn Calvello Ombudsman Pennsylvania Department of Education lcalvello@pa.gov 717-783-9164

Glenn Hart Ombudsman Pennsylvania Department of Education glhart@pa.gov

Rhode Island Jessica Roche Ombudsman Rhode Island Department of Education Jessica.Roche@ride.ri.gov 401-222-8933

South Carolina David Boison Ombudsman South Carolina Department of Education dboison@ed.sc.gov

South Dakota Jordan Dueis Title Programs Assistant Administrator South Dakota Department of Education Jordan.Dueis@state.sd.us 603-773-4716

Tennessee Keith Woodruff Equitable Services & Charter Schools Coordinator Tennessee Department of Education Keith.Woodruff@tn.gov

Texas Cory Green Ombudsman Texas Education Agency cory.green@tea.texas.gov

Utah Rebecca Donaldson Coordinator of Federal Programs Utah State Board of Education Rebecca.Donaldson@schools.utah.gov 209-466-0636

Vermont Jennifer Gresham Ombudsman Vermont Department of Education jennifer.gresham@vermont.gov

Virgin Island Kadesha David Ombudsman Virgin Island Department of Education Kadesha.david@vide.vi

Virginia Chris Kelly Education Coordinator Virginia Department of Education Christopher.kelly@doe.virginia.gov 804-225-2122

Washington Julie Chace Ombudsman Washington Department of Education julie.chace@k12.wa.us

Mary Jo Johnson Ombudsman Washington Department of Education maryjo.johnson@k12.wa.us

West Virginia Laura Pauley Ombudsman West Virginia Department of Education lepauley@k12.wv.us 304-558-3199

Wisconsin Jonas Zuckerman Interim Ombudsman Wisconsin Department of Public Instruction essaombudsman@dpi.wi.gov

Wyoming Shelley Hamel Ombudsman Wyoming Department of Education shelley.hamel@wyo.gov

If information on this page needs to be updated please send an email to onpe@ed.gov.

Last Updated: February 21, 2