Skip to Content

Ombudsman Directory

Alabama
Julie Turner
Education Specialist/Ombudsman
Alabama State Department of Education
jturner@alsde.edu

Alaska
Eli Barsy
Ombudsman
Alaska Department of Education and Early Learning
private.school.ombudsman@alaska.gov
907-465-2800

American Samoa
Beauty Tuiasosopo
Ombudsman
American Samoa Department of Education
btuiasosopo@yahoo.com

Arizona
Sue Edman
Ombudsman
Arizona Department of Education
sue.edman@azed.gov

Arkansas
Wes Whitley
Ombudsman
Arkansas Department of Education
wes.whitley@arkansas.gov
501-682-1293

California
Sylvia Hanna
Ombudsman
California Department of Education
SHanna@cde.ca.gov
http://www.cde.ca.gov/sp/sw/t1/ombudsmaneqservices.asp
916-319-0948

Colorado
DeLilah Collins
Ombudsman
Colorado Department of Education
Collins_D@cde.state.co.us

Commonwealth of the Northern Mariana Islands
Kinai Salas
Ombudsman
Commonwealth of the Northern Mariana Islands, State Department of Education
kinai.salas@gmail.com

Connecticut
Adrian Wood
Ombudsman
Connecticut State Department of Education
adrian.wood@ct.gov
860-713-6795

Delaware
Philip Keefer
Ombudsman
Delaware Department of Education
Philip.keefer@doe.k12.us

District of Columbia
Sheryl Hamilton
Ombudsman
Office of the State Superintendent of Education
sheryl.hamilton@dc.gov
202-741-6404

Florida
Nicolle Tanner
Ombudsman
Florida Department of Education
Nicolle.tanner@fldoe.org
850-245-9349

Georgia
Shaun Owen
Ombudsman
Georgia Department of Education
sowen@doe.k12.ga.us
404-971-0096

Guam
Stephanie N. Chargualaf
State Program Officer
Guam Department of Education
snchargualaf@gdoe.net
671-300-1261

Hawaii
Cara Tanimura
Ombudsman
Hawaii State Department of Education
cara_tanimura@notes.k12.hi.us

Idaho
Michelle Clement Taylor
Coordinator- School Choice
Idaho Department of Education
mtaylor@sde.idaho.gov
208-332-6963

Illinois
Denise Blaney
Ombudsman
Illinois State Board of Education
dblaney@isbe.net

Indiana
Brenda Martz
Indiana Department of Education
bmartz@doe.in.gov
317-233-3457

Iowa
Steve Crew
ESSA Ombudsman for Equitable Services
Iowa Department of Education
steve.crew@iowa.gov
515-326-1029

Kansas
Tate Toedman
Ombudsmen
Kansas State Department of Education
ttoedman@ksde.org
785-296-6714

Kentucky
David Millanti
Equitable Services Ombudsman
Kentucky Department of Education
kpso@education.ky.gov
502-564-3791

Louisiana
Daphne Flentroy
Ombudsman
Louisiana Department of Education
daphne.flentroy@la.gov

Maine
Charles Lomonte
Ombudsman
Maine Department of Education
charles.lomonte@maine.gov

Maryland
Barbara Scherr
Education Specialist
Maryland Department of Education
barbara.scherr@maryland.gov

Massachusetts
Russ Fleming
Ombudsman
Massachusetts Department of Elementary and Secondary Education
ESEAequitableservices@doe.mass.edu
781-338-6529

Michigan
Theresa Nugent
Ombudsman
Michigan Department of Education
NugentT@michigan.gov
517-335-0774

Minnesota
Debra Landvik Letendr
Ombudsman
Minnesota Department of Education
debra.landvik@state.mn.us
651-582-8763

Mississippi
Bryan Lieb
Ombudsman
Mississippi Department of Education
blieb@mdek12.org
601-359-3499

Missouri
Theresa Villmer
Assistant Director of Federal Programs
Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education
theresa.villmer@dese.mo.gov
573-526-4365

Montana
Jack O’Connor
Ombudsman
Montana Office of Public Instruction
Joconnor2@mt.gov

Nebraska
Diane Stuehmer
Federal Programs & Title I Administrator
Nebraska Department of Education
diane.stuehmer@nebraska.gov
402-471-1740

Tim Vanderheiden
Ombudsman
Nebraska Department of Education
timothy.vanderheiden@nebraska.gov
402-471-1749

Nevada
Melissa Schroeder
Ombudsman
Nevada Department of Education
mschroeder@doe.nv.gov
702-486-8259

New Hampshire
Stephen Berwick
Ombudsman
New Hampshire Department of Education
stephen.berwick@doe.nh.gov
603-271-2299

New Jersey
Constance Webster
Ombudsmen
New Jersey Department of Education
constance.webster@doe.state.nj.us

New Mexico
Brigette Russell, Ph.D.
Education Administrator, Title I Bureau
New Mexico Department of Education
brigette.russell2@state.nm.us
505-827-1819

New York
Christina Coughlin
Ombudsman
New York State Education Department
christina.coughlin@nysed.gov

North Carolina
Talbot Troy
Ombudsman
North Carolina Department of Public Instruction
talbot.troy@dpi.nc.gov
919-807-3792

North Dakota
Stephanie Two Crow
Ombudsman
North Dakota Department of Public Instruction
stwocrow@nd.gov
701-328-2287

Ohio
Chantelle Carter
Ombudsman
Ohio Department of Education
chantelle.cater@education.ohio.gov

Oklahoma
Naomi Ward
Ombudsman
Oklahoma Department of Education
naomi.ward@sde.ok.gov

Oregon
Joni Gilles
Ombudsman
Oregon Department of Education
joni.gilles@state.or.us

Pennsylvania
Lynn Calvello
Ombudsman
Pennsylvania Department of Education
lcalvello@pa.gov
717-783-9164

Puerto Rico
María del Carmen Martínez Alonso
Ombudsman
Puerto Rico Department of Education
Martinez_Ma@de.pr.gov

Rhode Island
Jessica Roche
Ombudsman
Rhode Island Department of Education
Jessica.Roche@ride.ri.gov
401-222-8933

South Carolina
David Boison
Ombudsman
South Carolina Department of Education
dboison@ed.sc.gov

South Dakota
Jordan Dueis
Title Programs Assistant Administrator
South Dakota Department of Education
Jordan.Dueis@state.sd.us
603-773-4716

Tennessee
Keith Woodruff
Equitable Services & Charter Schools Coordinator
Tennessee Department of Education
Keith.Woodruff@tn.gov

Texas
Cory Green
Ombudsman
Texas Education Agency
cory.green@tea.texas.gov

Utah
Rebecca Donaldson
Coordinator of Federal Programs
Utah State Board of Education
Rebecca.Donaldson@schools.utah.gov
209-466-0636

Vermont
Jennifer Gresham
Ombudsman
Vermont Department of Education
jennifer.gresham@vermont.gov

Virgin Islands
Kadesha David
Ombudsman
Virgin Island Department of Education
Kadesha.david@vide.vi

Virginia
Chris Kelly
Education Coordinator
Virginia Department of Education
Christopher.kelly@doe.virginia.gov
804-225-2122

Washington
Julie Chace
Ombudsman
Washington Department of Education
julie.chace@k12.wa.us

Mary Jo Johnson
Ombudsman
Washington Department of Education
maryjo.johnson@k12.wa.us

West Virginia
Laura Pauley
Ombudsman
West Virginia Department of Education
lepauley@k12.wv.us
304-558-3199

Wisconsin
Abigail Pavela
Ombudsman
WI Council of Religious & Independent Schools
essaombudsman@dpi.wi.gov

Wyoming
Kenya Haynes
Ombudsman
Wyoming Department of Education
kenya.haynes@wyo.gov

If information on this page needs to be updated please send an email to onpe@ed.gov.

Last Updated: July 24, 2018